Formalities in Amerika

Hallölen Popöle,

I am back and guess what, I have a new story for you!
Today I wanna talk about another difference between the Germans and the Americans.
Have you ever noticed that Germany is one of the few countries that has a polite form, like “Sie”. In America it is just “you”.
I mean I noticed that a few times, but thats not the end of the story. It’s gonna be legen...wait for it...dary! Ok I am just trying to be funny here and it clearly failed, I am sorry. Back to the story.
I already mentioned what I am doing in the US: Shadowing at Heidelberg US (HUS). I already met a lot of new people and all of them introduced their selves with their first name. I never thought about that too much but I talked to “uncle” Bill ( my hostdad) about it and he told me that no matter what position you’re in it’s always the first name here in America. 

When you meet somebody new in Germany they introduce themselves as (f.ex): “Guten Tag ich bin Herr Schmitt, es freut mich Sie kenne zu lernen”. If you are lucky, after a few years of knowing each other it can be : “Wir kennen uns jetzt schon so lange, ich bin der Wolfgang” and I think that’s beautiful. No I am just kidding. But you see the difference here right? 
Let me see if I have another example... no not here...mh maybe I have to look somwhere else...ah got it, got it do not panic!
Today I had an “interview at KSU (kennesaw state university) because uncle Bill talked to them about me “volunteering “ there at the theater “department “. Before the interview I was a bit nervous because its not my first language and I am always nervous when I have an interview.
So we went there and it was so layed back. I mean it would be different if I would apply for a job but even interviews for volunteering jobs are formal in Germany. They introduced themselves with first name, like I already mentioned. Easy peasy lemon squeezy. 
I recognized that Americans are in general more layed back then we Germans are. 

Aaaaand now the moment you’ve all been waiting for!!!! Guess what...AMERICANS ARE SO NICE! (LOL) 
It is only a small article today because  I don’t want to overload you with that much information. So just short articles you can read while sitting on the toilet. :D 

So Kinnas zurück ins Deutsche, ich muss ja meine Verabschiedung richtig machen sonst wird das alles nix.
Also, ich wünsch euch was!
Cheers Ayleen

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0