Baby shower

Hey y’all,
I am back with a funny story about American lifestyle!
I don’t know if you have heard about baby showers before....In Germany it’s not usual to throw a baby shower but it gets more and more popular. If you don’t know what it is let me explain it to you in a few words.
ITS A BIG BIG PARTY (A HELL OF PLANNING AND MONEY INVOLVED) FOR A BABY THAT IS NOT EVEN BORN! Crazy I know! 
It’s called baby shower but technically its more a party for the future mum. 
As you already know...everything Americans do is OVER THE TOP! Same with baby showers. Listen:

My hostmum (Auntie Dianne) planned the whole event. You need chairs, tables, invites, games you want to play, food, drinks, decorations, a date and more! So she started pretty early and thought about what she wants as a theme (Pumpkin, because of Halloween) , who does she wants to invite, where does she gets her food (future dads mum made it)....to be continued....
I don’t want to list everything she planned but as you can imagine it was a lot. 
A month before the shower she started buying cupcakes so we could try which one we want....we couldn’t decide so I said that I can bake her cupcakes...one week before the shower I tried two different types of cupcakes and the Friday before the shower I was in the kitchen the whole day, baking, making desserts and blowing up Ballons.

Side story for the Ballons: Auntie Dianne and I were driving in the car (Thursday before the shower):

Dianne: “Yeah and we have to blow up 100 Ballons tomorrow.....”
Me: “okay....wait what did you say A 100 BALLONS?!?! 100 BALLONS?! ARE YOU SERIOUS? (The thing was, Grandma Murphy, uncle Bills mum, was there too but she is a bit..mh.. older and her lungs are not the best anymore.... I am screwed people, thats the day I am going to die because I am gonna run out of air.... goodbye world it was nice living on you. I will miss you when I am going to rot in my coffin....)
No just joking, I blew up a few Ballons but luckily friends (Bernie and Tina) from Florida came over for the shower and they helped! 
Good news people: AYLEEN IS STILL ALIVE! YEAH!!

Ok back to the main story. Two days before the shower Auntie Dianne started to get really stressed...I felt soooo sorry but I mean she had to plan everything and she wanted it to be perfect...let me anticipate something: IT WAS PERFECT!
She had friends who helped her and even I helped as best as I could. 

Side story: I LOVE GRANDMA MURPHY, SHE IS THE BEST!! Her Grandparents are originally from Germany, so she still has German letters from 1910! AWESOME! She brought me two letters so I could see the old German writing...she didn’t expect that I could actually read the letters. So I tried to figure out the words and translated it for her....she was soooo happy and therefor I was happy and we all were happy! ...and they all lived happily ever after... JOKING! 
Anyway Grandma Murphy arrived Thursday, we spend the day together, then I had to go to KSU(kennesaw state university) I came back and Grandma Murphy and Auntie Dianne were drinking wine...first bottle...second bottle...THIRD BOTTLE...ok no that was it and I am responsible for half a bottle...but still. We were up really late, drinking, talking and I played the guitar, it was a fun night. 

 

Next day was the baking and finish decoration day. One of Auntie Diannes friends came over to help with the flowers and she brought us the IMPOSSIBLE BURGER. If you wonder what that is, it is a meatless burger from Burger King...and guess what, it is really good  ( and no they dont pay me for saying that)! It really tastes like meat even if it is without meat! Crazy world. 
That friday family friends came over from Florida for the shower..thank god they came so we had enough help! And I really like them, they are nice and funny people, I really enjoyed talking to them!! If you read that, it was nice meeting you guys and I see you again for my baby shower!

Friday same thing, we stayed up late and this time we had TEQUILA AND GIN!!!!!! ( Beste Leben!)

It was so much fun but getting up at 8:00 am on a Saturday morning wasnt any fun! Why so early? We had to set up everything! All the decorations, the desserts, the tables, the ballons and Uncle Bill and Bernie had to move all the furniture from the living room to the garage! Yeah I know Germans would never ever move there WHOLE FURNITURE for a party. What can I tell you...crazy Americans!

We had a wonderful Ballon arch but it was more difficult to attach it to the wall than we thought. Do you know what uncle Bill did then...HE STAPLED IT TO THE WALL! If I would tell my mum:

"Hey mum listen I am going to throw a party and I have to attach a ballon arch to the wall but I dont know how...oh wait lets just STAPLE IT TO THE WALL!!!!"

My mum would kick me out!! Ok no she wouldnt but she would think that I am crazy and that I have to go to the psychiatrist. And again CRAZY AMERICANS but I love them anyway!

 

Baby shower was a big success (we even had a diaper cake thanks to Tina, who could figure out how to do it)! We played games:

  1. diaper raffle
  2. pacifier hunt
  3. guess the socks in the jar
  4. my water broke
  5. figure out nusery rimes by means of emojis ( I dont know the American nursery rimes!!! except hot cross buns, and itsy bitsy spider...)
  6. finish the song lyric (only songs with "Baby" in it)
  7. write something funny on a diaper

We had a big buffet and Kayleigh (The future mum) go A LOT of presents and if I say a lot, I mean a lot. But I think that a baby shower is a nice idea. You have a nice afternoon with your friends, playing games and getting gifts you need for baby anyway! It was fun!!!! A lot of work for Auntie Dianne but fun!

 

Side fact: Baby showers are only for women...the men disappeared and went out for lunch...THAT IS SO AMERICAN!!!! Men go and drink beer and talk and the women stay, drink wine and talk.

Stereotypes confirmed!

After baby shower: Cleaning! Yeah the best part! But it wasnt too bad.

Food, drinking and talking -> that was the rest of the evening.

 

Sunday: Sleeping in!!! Yeah! My favorite thing to do. After that, cleaning the rest, talking, lunch, saying goodbye to Bernie and Tina.

Drinking wine again, playing wizard (best card game on earth), eating leftovers, drinking too much and getting tipsy ! Thats my life in a nutshell: Drinking, eating, sleeping, talking! Fun!

 

Monday: I slept in again and Auntie Dianne brought Grandma Murphy to the airport...I am gonna miss her! Sad! Love you Grandma Murphy, I hope I´ll see you again one day!

 

And that was it! A stressful but even more wonderful weekend I will never forget!

 

I will tell you more storys soon!

Haut rein, ich wünsch euch was:

Cheers Ayleen

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0