Halloween

Its spooky season Ladys and Gentlemen!

 

Actually it was spooky season a month ago and I just was to lazy to write an article about it but as they say : Better late than never!

If you have already read my article about Mr Bones, you know how spooky season started for me! HORRIBLE!!!! The thing is, we in Germany celebrate Halloween but not as big as the Americans do! They get all crazy about it! Like I said, everything here is over the top!

Even if I was never a trick or treat person who celebrated Halloween, I was excited to see how they do it in the United States....and let me tell you...you have no idea!!!!

I mean, I knew that they celebrate it  bigger than we do and that they have a lot of Halloween decorations, but they really have... A LOT of decorations.

I came in the office after the weekend and I wasnt in the friday before so I was really shocked and surprised, what they did to that place....

DECORATIONS EVERYWHERE! And when I say everywhere, I mean EVERYWHERE!!!

Each department had there own theme. There was a "day of the dead" department, a "Harry Potter" department and my department (operations) had a nice mix of everything. For example uncle Bills black Halloween tree and a bloody witch doll! Hate that thing!

To put it in a nutshell: OVER THE TOP! We spend like one to two hours decorating the department. Crazy, crazy Americans. 

They even had haunted houses everywhere...but I couldnt go. I would have peed my pants because I have an Automatonophobia (not a really strong one but still...). I said to uncle Bill that if they force me to go into a haunted house I have to sleep with them in one bed that night. And that was the end of that...

And with the start of the spooky season the pumpkin season started. Yes we have pumpkins too, thats nothing new. We sometimes carve pumkins, at Starbucks we have pumpkin spiced latte, we have pumpkin soup BUT the Americans go even with pumpkins...ALL OVER THE TOP! They have pumpkin everything: Pumpkin cookies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin cupcakes, pumpkin mousse, pumpkin butter, pumpkin ice creme, pumpkin deserts, pumpkin bread, pumpkin brownies, pumpkin french toast, pumpkin alcoholic cocktails, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin cinnamon rolls, pumpkin donuts, do you want me to continue? PUMPKIN EVERYWHERE! the American people have an obsession with Pumpkins! 

I have never seen the movie Hocus Pocus! Yeah I now that is a crime here...but I catched up! I mean it was an old movie...you could see that, Sarah Jessica Parker was NINETEEN when they filmed it!!! But it was a funny movie. I liked it.

Have you ever heard about the Disney Halloween movie Twitches? If not, you are lucky and you havent missed anything! If yes, I feel sorry for you! I think that was the worst movie I have ever seen (Auntie Dianne and Uncle Bill agree with me in that point) ! Bad acting, bad lines, bad story, bad effects, everything bad! That was a wast of time and a wast of 3 $ ( thank you amazon video for that).

Anyway, I enjoyed spooky season. It was fun! And then the Day came....ITS HALLOWEEN! I knew that people come with costumes to work, so I decided to wear my German Lederhosen outfit..."but thats not scary"...I know but I put some make up on and then I was a German person AFTER Octoberfest and that can be scary sometimes! Let me tell you...IT...WAS...AWESOME! Nice costumes, a big food buffet, a "who carved the best pumpkin" competition. Everyone was in a good mood. It was a nice day at work!

In the evening Trey, Kayleigh and Nancy (a friend of Diannes) came to our house, so we could eat together and welcome trick or treat kids.

After Dinner uncle Bill, Trey, Kayleigh and me went to see a Halloween house in the neighborhood. The person who lives there must be crazy, thats the only explanation I have for that. The whole frontyard was decoratet like a graveyard. Zombies and Skeletons and everything was moving!! In the windows there were cat eyes and onw window looked like someone standing there and looking outside...just crazy! 

 

Anyway, standing infront of the house was creepy and scary as hell and I clung to uncle Bills arm but besides that it was nice to see Americas craziness.

It was a really cool day and I was happy to celebrate Halloween this year with my American family!

Have a great one!

Ich wünsch euch was!

Cheers Ayleen!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0